poetry

Why I Consider Myself a Poet

Out of all the categories and labels from the ever fast growing mileniel culture, why am I a self-proclaimed poet?

I mean sure; I love to drink tea and the aesthetic of coffee shops, I continue to buy books even though my room has become an obstacle course with stacks of unread books, and I may have over 300 excerpts of poems saved in my camera roll. But that is just me being a hipster, not the checklist of a modern day poet.

I’ve noticed that there is an unequal balance on the general public’s views on poets and their works. On one hand, people couldn’t think of anything more boring to do with their lives. People belittle those who love poetry, poets are just huge English Literature nerds that chose the least enjoyable hobby. It’s the people that loathed poetry in school that specifically fit in this category (as well as the people that simply took English in university thinking that it would be an easy elective). However, on the other hand, the general public cannot stop praising mainstream poets and their works. Such an example would be the ‘instagrammable’ rise of Rupi Kuar and her debut poetry novel Milk & Honey. Sure, she plagiarized half of the poems in that novel and sure, she lacks complete rhythm in her string of words but if you don’t take a picture of yourself fake-reading that novel with an incredible view, then do you even know what P O E T R Y is?

Well, I actually do know what poetry is, and I appreciate it far more than my mere semester test marks makes me out to be. Poetry is so much more than metaphors and similes, than rhymes and stanzas.

I find the beauty in poetry in moments – found in scenes where I can see the emotions clearer than the actual events taking place. I find the intrigue in poetry in natural and organic rendezvous – where I can slowly decipher the messages between creation and the creator. Poetry helps express a spectrum of feelings to the poet, making certain that the poet puts these feelings in words. And, to be frank, I am better with words than expressing my feelings.

Poetry is empowerment. With so many movements against injustices today such as #FeesMustFall, #BlackLivesMatter and #FreePalestine there has also been a rise of slam poetry. Slam poetry is spoken word poetry that focuses on these controversial topics and brings to light conversations of change and inspiration. This sub-genre sparked my interest a few years ago. Poetry is often stigmatized as being romantic, depressing or just out-right weird. Slam poetry completely shatters that stereotype with poems challenging the patriarchy, poems taking a creative twist on social issues, poems about the complications of life and how there’s no “happily ever after” for everyone. I guiltlessly bingewatch these slam poetry videos on YouTube, ranging from professional poets in competitions to amateurs in quirky open-mics. Despite all the topics and perspectives in slam poetry, one thing stays true and that’s the intent of the poet has been clearly shown in their poetry.

I think this is why I, mostly, consider myself a poet. Poetry is a tool, almost a coping mechanism, for me to come to terms with my feelings. It invokes bravery in me when writing down words I cannot say aloud. It invokes closure in me when finally realizing the worth of the word and that I no longer define, that I let go of a range of feelings when writing as easily as tearing the page out when I’m done.

I am a poet; proud and precocious.

One thought on “Why I Consider Myself a Poet

  1. Glad to have found yet another poet!Your description of poetry is beautiful!I would advise you to bring a bit of background (colour/wallpaper) to the blog! Continue blogging.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment